9. Andrew Allen Slamming

Not many words this week – I should have some thoughts on skateboarding and its relationship to society in a format that more closely resembles an essay soon. It’s real easy to get all bloggy when you have, you know, a blog. I’ve never really kept a journal, this is kind of tight.

I try to steer clear of the bigger stuff people have probably seen but I got stoked this week by that stuff – namely Hockey III. It kicked ass. Andrew Allen slamming gets me so hyped. Dude goes down like a sack of potatoes thrown into a pile of bricks. I rewound his slams, which he takes with the gravitas of a make, more than any other trick in the video. It makes me want go outside and rub my hands against gravel just to get those little pieces stuck in my palm, let alone skate.

Palasonic is, of course, so sick. You didn’t need me to tell you that. I’d be down for the next one to not be VHS, though. I haven’t watched the Thrasher stuff this week – Deathwish and Blind – but I intend to before the session later. Deathwish has been my shit since I moved to Los Angeles. Maybe I’ll buy a board.

Shout-out to Jenkem, also, with some of my favorite not-too-high-brow-but-above-Instagram-level video content. I’ve finally come around on Orangeman, that freaky mad scientist.

Leave a comment